DC fans are anxiously waiting the next solo Batman film tentatively titled The Batman that Warner Brothers confirmed is coming in 2018 but they might be waiting even longer because the film might NOT be coming after all. 

Writer/Director/Batman himself Ben Affleck has recently said a few things regarding the possible upcoming movie. 

On the subject of rushing the film out:

“I’m a real believer in not reverse engineering projects to meet a window or a date. So, that’s what we’re doing. I’m really mindful of that. I’m not in any hurry to jam a mediocre film down the pipe.”

On the subject of making the film:

“I’m not going to write and direct anything that I don’t think is good enough to be made. I’m definitely going to make sure I have something that is special — there’s not enough money in the world to make a mediocre version of Batman worth it.”

His recent comments from The Guardian are where he confirms the film might NOT happen:

“But it’s not a set thing and there’s no script. If it doesn’t come together in a way I think is really great I’m not going to do it.”

After reading that last comment from him, three possibilities come to my mind:

  1. Warner Brothers gives him more time to create a memorable and decent film. 
  2. Warner Brothers cans the whole project because they have confirmed they announced the DC film slate without thinking about the possibility of “something going wrong” and this is a perfect example. 
  3. And my least favorite, they get someone else instead of Ben to write and direct the film. 

Only time will tell whether The Batman moves forward or not. Stay tuned for all the latest updates on this highly anticipated film!

